Skip To Content
Quick Escape
Working to create a world free of violence & abuse

We're Seeking Nominations for the 2020 Sr. Mary Vera Award

We're Seeking Nominations for the 2020 Sr. Mary Vera Award

Nominations are being sought for the 2020 Sister Mary Vera Recognition Award. This award is presented annually by the Vera House Board of Directors to a member of the community who works to enrich the lives of all people, and who has made a significant contribution to those affected by domestic or sexual violence. Those nominated should perform this work in a manner consistent with the humility, gentleness and humanitarian spirit reflected by Sister Mary Vera, one of the agency’s founders and namesake. 

Awardees will be recognized during the Annual Recognition and Celebration Luncheon at the DoubleTree Hotel on Wednesday, June 10, 2020.

Click HERE to download a nomination form.

Nominations must be received by April 1, 2020. Entry forms can be sent by mail to Vera House, Inc. ATTN: Maryann Wood, 723 James St. Syracuse, NY 13203, by fax at (315) 425-8942 or by email to

Recent past Sr. Mary Vera Awardees include:
2019   Anne Ruffer
2018   Charlie Beach
2017   Barry L. Wells
2016   Sean Kirst
2015   Joe Horan
2014   Annette Briggs
2013   Susan K. Griffith
2012   Renee DeVesty
2011   Tom Magnarelli
2010   John Dooling